Interview with ‘Malcolm in the Middle’ Star Frankie Muniz

Frankie MunizFrankie Muniz is best known for playing Malcolm on the television series “Malcolm in the Middle”from 2000-2006 on FOX. He also played the title character in the “Agent Cody Banks” movies, as well as Jason Shepherd in “Big Fat Liar.”

How did you get started in the industry?

Frankie: In the acting industry or music!? Haha! For acting, my sister did a summer arts camp in Raleigh, NC and at the end of the summer they performed “Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat” and I thought it looked like a lot of fun. A few months later, my sister was auditioning for “A Christmas Carol” and she asked me if I would audition as well. So I did… and got the part of Tiny Tim and the rest is history. From the time I did that at 8 years old, until a few years ago when I decided to take some time away from acting to pursue other passions of mine, I was pretty much NON STOP with the acting. It was amazing.

As far as music, I’ve always been a huge fan of music. I started playing drums when I was 12 and I knew it was something that I really wanted to pursue. In 2010, I joined a band in Phoenix, AZ, which was a blast. After parting ways in late 2011, I auditioned for the band “Kingsfoil” which is the best thing that’s ever happened to me! Playing drums for Kingsfoil is my dream come true. I love the band, the music and my band mates. I couldn’t ask for a better situation!
E- What is your favorite project that you have worked on?

F- I had a blast filming “Malcolm in the Middle”. Just cracking up everyday, filming a TV show with great people is hard to beat. I’ve had a lot of great experiences as an actor. Everything was amazing in it’s own way.
E- What is the most challenging/stressful part of this career?

F- A lot more goes into acting than just saying words. Very long hours and tons of people pulling you left and right to get things done. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a great gig, it’s just non-stop when you’re on a show and making movies during hiatus. Also the fame. There is a ton of good that comes from being on TV, but then lots of negatives as well. The good definitely outweigh the bad, but it takes a special kind of person to be able to handle it. That’s why most turn to drugs and alcohol… to fill a void or something. As a guy that to this day has never drank or touched any kind if drug, I just tried to appreciate all the amazing things that I got to do at such a young age. I didn’t want to lose those memories.
E- What is the most rewarding/exciting part of this career?

F- Having fans come up and tell you they enjoy your work is pretty cool. I’m still surprised by it everyday.
E- Who has been your favorite actor & actress that you’ve worked with?

F- Hands down, Bryan Cranston . He’s my idol as an actor and as a person. I hope to have half the talent of him one day!

Also, Angie Harmon and I became very close friends during “Agent Cody Banks” . Never laughed so much with someone before!
E- What would be your words of wisdom to someone starting out in this industry?

F- Not to give up! It’s a tough business. There is a lot of rejection and tons of people trying for the same thing, but most get caught up in “Hollywood” rather than focus on doing what they are in LA or NY to do.
E- Do you ever miss “Malcolm”?

F- The older I get, the more I appreciate the show. The memories and the experiences were amazing! I would love to be on that show still!
E- How did you find out “Malcolm” was ending?malcolm-in-the-middle-malcolm-in-the-middle-20523331-1024-768

F- We knew going into the last season that the show would be ending that year. So we had 7 months to prepare. At the time, I felt the show coming to an end was a positive. We had done 7 years, 151 episodes, won Emmy’s and all that jazz… I felt we had a good run. Now I look back and go… “damn… I wish that stayed on forever”.. because it was a really cool thing to be a part of. I watch reruns sometimes now and feel proud that I got to be a part of it.
E- What are some of your weirdest and best fan moments?

F- People always pick me up which is creepy. I’ve had tons of odd experiences with fans… Haters and all are always fun! Best moments are when you can see their excitement. The fact that me being me can make someone happy is pretty cool…
E- Where is the weirdest place you were recognized?

F- Weird to me is when I’m in a different country where NO ONE speaks English and somehow people have seen “Malcolm”. It’s shocking because I never expect it.
E- What is the most rewarding/exciting part of this career?

F- Just all the things I’ve gotten to do because of the acting. I’ve traveled the world, met some of my favorite celebs and been given the opportunity to fulfill my dreams. Racing cars, and now music. I love it.
E- What is your best audition story?

F- When I auditioned for “Malcolm” I rushed and didn’t want to go because I was going to be late to film a Pizza Hut commercial. My mom made me go and I was pissed! Good thing I went!!! Although I felt like I did badly in the audition, they called the next day to fly me to LA to meet all the FOX execs. I didn’t see that coming!
E- Role you wish you had gotten?

F- Jesse Pinkman in “Breaking Bad”
E- Is there a prop that you took from any of your roles?

F- I have lots of clothes from the sets. Haha… I put shirts on sometimes and they say “Malcolm” on the tag… ooops.
E-We’ve talked a lot about your past, but what are you up to now?

F- I now play drums for the pop/rock band Kingsfoil. It’s my dream situation and I’m having the time of my life doing it.
E- How did you get involved with the band?

F- My old band had the same manager of Kingsfoil, so he suggested I audition for them when their drummer decided to leave. I had already been a big fan of the band so I was excited to be given an opportunity to try out. Lucky for me, I got the gig and I love it.
E- When did you first start playing drums?

F- About 12 years old I got a toy drum set from a JC Penny catalog. Annoyed the hell out of my family… but it paid off!
E- What type of music would you say you guys are? Any comparisons?

470_2472374F- People say One Republic, The Fray, The Script – ish… To me we’re just Kingsfoil. It def fits with those bands, but also stands out from them a lot.
E- Where can people go to find out more about the band?

F- Kingsfoil.com , Facebook and Twitter …
E- What’s your favorite song both to play and listen to?

F- My favorite song is “Keeps Me Breathing”, which is off the 2010 release “On Our Own Together”. I like them all though! Favorite song to play is “Demons”
E- Are you guys touring or coming out with a new record soon?

F- We are constantly on the road. We just finished a 20 city tour 2 weeks ago. Have a new album coming out later next month and our first single off the record will be released August 21st ! Make sure to pick it up!
E- Any plans for acting jobs or are you trying to just focus on music?

F- My focus is music 100%. But if the timing works out, I will do acting bits here and there. I’m filming an episode of “Don’t Trust The B— In Apt. 23” next week, which will be fun.
E- You have also been busy planning a wedding, as you are currently engaged to Elycia Marie, right?

F- Very busy planning. But excited to get married to Elycia! She’s amazing.
E- When will the marriage take place?

F- Still finalizing all the details. Hard to fit a wedding in with an album release and nationwide tour!!! But def. before the year is over.
E- Have you thought about becoming a father?

F- I talk about it everyday! Oops… I can’t wait to be a dad.
E- Thanks for your time Frankie.

F- Thanks for everything! I hope everyone checks out Kingsfoil and hope to see everyone at a show next month!!!!
Questions for Jordan Davis, lead singer of Kingsfoil

Eric- Were you a fan of Frankie’s from his acting career?

Jordan- I didn’t have a TV growing up. that being said- I did have an ex girlfriend, who’s family loved “Malcolm In The Middle”! I used to watch it with them. I was and am a fan! I’m also a fan of his drumming:)

E- How has Frankie affected the band?

J- It’s been awesome! I don’t want to jinx it but after a couple months of learning songs, then later spending a month on the road, we didn’t get into a single fight with each other! (other than which gas station to go to OR what time we needed to leave) Frankie’s work ethic is awesome and also an essential attitude to have if you are an indie band! This has helped us focus and work harder as well. AND most importantly, on stage we have a new energy. As we start to play more and more shows it only gets better.

E- Do you think his celebrity has brought in more fans?

J- Y es! I think some of Frankie’s fans have checked out the band for sure. We are so thankful to any of those people for checking us out! We can’t wait to get our new record out to all our fans! old and new:)

About Eric Haftel
Hey, my name is Eric. I am 27 and a working member of the press. I have been doing this for about 5 years now. I have been able to cover some of the biggest tours, some of the biggest bands, live sporting events, red carpet events and so many other amazing things.

Leave a comment