Interview with Ian Ziering of ‘Beverly Hills, 90210’

470_1587299Ian Ziering is best known for playing Steve Sanders on the television series “Beverly Hills, 90210” from 1990-2000 on FOX as well as being a contestant on “Dancing with the Stars” in 2007.

I know Ian Ziering through a family friend, and I have known him for almost a year now.

Eric- How did you get started in the industry?

Ian- I started when I was 12 yrs old. I began modeling in NY and doing commercials. That led to regional theatre and then Broadway and then movies. My most famous commercial was for Fruit Of the Loom underwear. I took a lot of razzing from my classmates. “Their comfortable waistband snaps back wash after wash…” Ha-ha

My first movie was “Endless Love” starring as Brook Shields, and James Spader’s younger brother.

E- Who is your favorite director you have worked with?

I- Tony Scott. I worked with Tony on the film, Domino, with Keira Knightley & Brian Green six years ago. His hyper visual style is captivating to watch. To see him direct 12 cameras at a time is quite a feat in itself.

E- What is your favorite project that you have worked on?

I- As an actor there are so many different mediums to perform on. I would have to say doing 90210 because it was a dream job.

E- Do you ever miss it?

I- I can’t. People all over the world are still watching it, and they’re all too happy to say hello to me and let me know how much they loved the show. I don’t get a chance to miss it.

E- Where is the weirdest place you were recognized?

I- I was trying on clothes in a changing room and was talking to my wife through the door and someone recognized me through my voice. .

E- What is the most challenging/stressful part of this career?

I- There is no job security. There are far too few jobs, and far to many actors.

Past success is no guarantee of future success so I have learned to be an entrepreneur. I began to produce and direct my own projects.

E- What is your favorite film you directed?

I- Man vs. Monday. I have gotten some traction into turning it into a web series. Man vs. Monday is a story of every mans struggle to do battle with the riggers of daily life. Usually, the ends justify the means but our character doesn’t always take the high road.

E- What is the most rewarding/exciting part of this career?

I- The path has led me to my incredible wife Erin. I am a lucky man.

E- Favorite Actor and Actress worked with?

I- My family from 90210; working with someone so closely they become family.

E- What would be your words of wisdom to someone starting out in this industry?

I- Make sure you have a plan B. There are so many people who say they are actors and they don’t spend for 5 minutes a day working on their craft. You need to train and need to take classes to keep your tools sharp. I’m always in class, whether it’s theater or drama workshops. Michael Phelps competes for 30 seconds every couple of months, but is in the pool training for hours everyday.

E- What is in the future for you?

I- Being a father as my wife, Erin, is due in 1 month. April 23rd is the due date.

E- You’re 47, how do you maintain such a youthful look?

I- My genes do have a huge role to play but my genes aren’t my destiny. I have been using the Galvanic Spa from Nuskin for the past year and a half and that reduces the fine lines and wrinkles on my face. I also take Pharmanex’s LifePak Nano vitamin supplements, which are packed with antioxidants that all work together to increase my youth span.

And you can find all these products at Nuskin.com

E- You are about to be a father; how will that change you?

I- After the baby is born I will need to find a way to balance out everything in my life, between acting, fatherhood and my career, I look forward to this journey with eager anticipation in finding the balance of all the facets of my life.

E- Do you have a name picked out?

I- We will be naming our daughter after my mother, Mickie, but currently she’s baby M. We will hold off naming her until she arrives.

E- How many kids would you like to have?

I- 2 or 3 kids would be great, but we’ll play it by ear.

E- What is your best audition story?

I- When I first auditioned for 90210, I walked into the casting office to pick up the script for my audition that was scheduled for the next day, no one was there. I signed in with an alias and stole all the other scripts. This is a cutthroat business. Over the course of the series, I taught Steve Sanders a thing or two 😉

E- Is there a prop that you took from any of your roles?

I- I took a jukebox off the counter of the Peach Pit set from 90210. It is now sitting comfortably in my home.

E- How did you find out 90210 was ending?

I- We pretty much knew at the start of the 10th season that this was the last one.

E- Role you wish you had gotten?

I- Right after 90210 ended the people at Fox asked if I ever considered hosting a reality show and I said no. At the time I wasn’t interested, but now I think I should have at least auditioned. That show turned out to be American Idol. Ryan Seacrest is great as the host of Idol.

E- Describe how being married and expecting a baby compares with living the Hollywood single life.

I- It’s a lot less fun, but a lot more joy.

E- Thank you for your time and good luck on becoming a father.

I- Thanks, Eric.

About Eric Haftel
Hey, my name is Eric. I am 27 and a working member of the press. I have been doing this for about 5 years now. I have been able to cover some of the biggest tours, some of the biggest bands, live sporting events, red carpet events and so many other amazing things.

Leave a Reply

